South Africa’s Bhekinkosi Moyo wins Olga Prize

The winner of the Fourth Olga Alexeeva Memorial Prize is Bhekinkosi Moyo, executive director of the Southern Africa Trust and chair of the Africa Philanthropy Network.

In a continent where philanthropy has long been marginalized, where very little infrastructure exists to support its development and there is little understanding of its role, Bheki Moyo has consistently promoted African philanthropy locally and globally.

Moyo has contributed greatly to building stronger participation and more horizontal processes around philanthropic efforts in Africa, both through his direct interventions and through his academic and knowledge achievements.

In choosing Bheki Moyo, the judges commented on ‘his broad and long-term contribution to African philanthropy, playing different roles and critically contributing to building African institutions and networks ... dedicated to strengthening philanthropy in Africa and helping to create the potential to achieve progressive social change in a sustained manner’.

Next News to read

Individual giving and philanthropy in Turkey

Alliance magazine