President Hifikepunye Pohamba wins 2014 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership


Alliance magazine


President Hifikepunye Pohamba has been named as the winner of the 2014 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership. Established in 2007, the Ibrahim Prize recognizes and celebrates excellence in African leadership. It aims to encourage leaders who fully dedicate their tenure of office to surmounting the development challenges of their countries, improving the livelihoods and welfare of their people and consolidating the foundation for sustainable development.

Announcing the 2014 Ibrahim Laureate in front of an audience of the diplomatic community, civil society representatives and the media at a press conference in Nairobi, Salim Ahmed Salim, the Chair of the Prize Committee, said:

‘President Pohamba’s focus in forging national cohesion and reconciliation at a key stage of Namibia’s consolidation of democracy and social and economic development impressed the ‎Prize Committee. His ability to command the confidence and the trust of his people is exemplary. During the decade of his Presidential mandate, he demonstrated sound and wise leadership. At the same time, he maintained his humility throughout his Presidency.’

The Ibrahim Prize is a US$5 million award paid over ten years and US$200,000 annually for life thereafter. The Mo Ibrahim Foundation will consider granting a further US$200,000 per year for ten years towards public interest activities and good causes espoused by the Ibrahim Laureate.

President Pohamba follows Presidents Joaquim Chissano, Mozambique (2007), Festus Mogae, Botswana (2008) and Pedro Pires, Cabo Verde (2011) as Ibrahim Laureates.  Nelson Mandela was made the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007. In 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013 the Prize Committee, after in-depth review, did not select a winner.

Click here to read the full press release and the full Prize Committee citation.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *