Alliance partner IFIP to run webinars dedicated to impact of COVID-19 on Indigenous Peoples

 

Alliance magazine

0

International Funders for Indigenous Peoples (IFIP), in collaboration with Indigenous-led organisations, will be hosting a series of funder focused webinars dedicated to the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on Indigenous Peoples. The webinar series launches on 17 June and includes five sessions over the course of a week.

Coronavirus is having a serious and disproportionate impact on Indigenous Peoples worldwide, and the webinars will seek to highlight these intersectional challenges as well as explore how the current crisis can be used as a springboard for change.

‘At a time when we are witnessing and experiencing the impact of structural and systemic inequalities, and environmental degradation, Indigenous people need the allyship and support of the philanthropic community,’ said IFIP Coordinator Rachel Smith.

Webinar schedule

Indigenous Women and Youth in the time of Covid-19 (Asia)
Organisation: Samdhana Institute
17 June, 7:00 – 8:00 AM PDT | 10 – 11 AM EDT
More Info & Registration: https://tinyurl.com/SamdhanaJune2020

Violations of Human Rights of Indigenous Peoples in the times of COVID-19 pandemic (Global)
Organisation: Cultural Survival
18 June, 9:00 – 10:00 AM PDT | 12:00 – 1:00 PM EDT
More Info & Registration: https://tinyurl.com/CSwebinarJune2020

Economical Reactivation of Indigenous Communities post COVID-19 Based on Risk Assessment
Organisation: Fund for Development of Ingenious People in Latin America and the Caribbean (FILAC)
22 June, 3:00 – 4 PM PDT | 6:00 – 7:00 PM EDT
More Info & Registration: https://tinyurl.com/FILACwebinarJune2020

A Just Recovery for Indigenous Women and Land Defenders
Organisation: Indigenous Climate Action
23 June, 8:30 – 9:45 AM PDT | 11:30 AM – 12:45 PM EDT
More Info & Registration: https://tinyurl.com/ICAwebinarJune2020

Indigenous Women: Learning and Challenges in the Virtual World
Organisation: International Indigenous Women Forum (FIMI)
24 June, 9 – 10 AM PDT | 12 – 1 PM Eastern
More Info & Registration: https://tinyurl.com/FIMIwebinarJune2020


Read Alliance’s March 2020 issue on Indigenous philanthropy. Indigenous Peoples are invaluable partners in solving many of today’s complex problems, such as climate change, biodiversity preservation, and sustainable management of natural resources. As the philanthropy world begins to recognise that support and funding for the self-determination efforts led by Indigenous Peoples are critical, what are effective ways to partner with Indigenous Peoples and place Indigenous values at the heart of philanthropic practice?

Tagged in: Coronavirus


Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *